Pavlova-licious

Once upon a time I made a resolution to spend less $$ at the grocery.

But that resolution is no match for the raging, judgment-numbing female hormones that drive me to cram any and every available nom into my gaping maw. Can’t help it. THIS IS THE PRICE WE PAY FOR THE MIRACLE OF LIFE.

The ‘mones drove me to the Harris Teeter at 10.30 p.m. on a Tuesday, where I purchased a $5 container of pre-made nanner pudding. Travesty! When all the bottomless pit wanted was something creamy, light, and slightly crunchy, with a thin facade of healthfulness. Something like…

PAVLOVA!

My cousin’s lovely Kiwi wife once made this dish for a party, and it rivaled in deliciousness any of John’s genius ‘trained chef’ foods. It crunched. It squished. It had gushy tart berry cream filling. All in all, an ideal comestible. Perhaps the best thing that’s come out of New Zealand since Lord of the Rings. And the electric fence. And the commercial bungy jump. Thanks, internet!

http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Easy-Pavlova/Detail.aspx

This is the recipe that yielded the yum-puff featured at the bottom of the post. You can easily make this thing for practically free–especially if the Teet is having their 10.30 p.m. 2-for-1 berry special.

1. I beat the bejeezes out of 4 egg yolks. Here they are in slime booger stage…

egg whites fluffing

meringue

And there they are with air in them! Add 2 tsp corn starch, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 tsp lemon juice, and 1 cup sugar (the recipe calls for 1 1/4 cups, but it ended up being a bit sweet for me.)

2. Glop stiff, shiny mixture onto a parchment-lined cookie tin.

gloppingProps to Jocelyn for capturing the action mid-glop.

3. Smooth into a slightly depressed pile.

pavlova pile

A lot like this one. Poor little poot.

poorlittlepoot

4. Bake it at 300 for an hour. CAN YOU WAIT THAT LONG? Then it will come out crispy and crusty like so:

baked meringue

Slide parchment onto a rack and cool. CAN YOU EVEN WAIT THAT LONG? IT’S MADDENING.

5. Whip some cream, chop some berries (or kiwi, if you’re feeling authentic), and pile on top.

pavlova delicious

And 2.5 seconds later…

decimated

Sluuuurp! Spring comfort in a bowl.

Love,

Jennifer

6 responses to “Pavlova-licious

  1. Okay that has to be oozing with calories as well as deliciousness. You’ve made me hungry and I just had oatmeal with blueberries. Somehow I think the berries would have tasted better on your concoction!

  2. You girls are amazing! I’m going to come over for lessons!

  3. YUM!! I tried to make a pavlova last year, but I fail miserably at meringue. I only have a hand mixer, which I fear is the root of my problems. Any suggestions for making meringue?

  4. Scotty! Jennifer’s meringue was truly perfect. Delish. I would know, because I ate half of it. And yes, she did have the advantage of my gorgeous pretty lovely perfect KitchenAid stand mixer. But I think this website might help you:http://whatscookingamerica.net/Eggs/perfectmeringue.htm (I’ve found the stainless steel bowl to be the key to making my meringues work)

  5. Thanks, Jocelyn!

  6. Yes! It takes for-evs w/ a hand mixer. But you do have to beat it up substantially before adding anything to it or the little granules will impede the fluffing process. Next time you come to visit we’ll have a class :D.

Leave a Reply

