Fete for a Fetus

Don’t you just hate the title of this blog? 

So, just to update you on my party-planning misadventures, I think things actually turned out pretty nicely today for my dear boss’s baby shower. Many thanks to the ladies of 2137; coworkers Stephanie, Ami, and Natalie; and of course, my perpetually-party-planning ma. 

Speaking of my ma (let’s affectionately refer to her as “Nanch”), she all but forced me to make what I’m about to show you here. To be honest, Nanch, it wasn’t really something I think I’d ever choose to do on my own. But in the end it turned out adorably, and it didn’t tip the whole shower into the “cutesy” category that I was oh-so-earnestly trying to avoid.

So without further ado . . . 

baby cupcakes

PACIFIER CUPCAKES!!!

Purdy darn precious, eh? Good news!!! They’re easy to make.

While I baked the cupcakes last night, I made the pacifiers out of candy earlier in the week. (oh yes, my friends, they are edible) You begin with white lifesavers and jelly beans in your colors of choice. I chose yellow, pink, and blue.

lifesavers/jellybellies

In order to create edible glue, all you need is royal icing. To make a full batch of royal icing, you need:

  • 2 large egg whites
  • 2 tsp. lemon juice
  • 3 cups confectioner’s sugar, sifted

In this case, you certainly don’t need an entire batch–so I’d suggest halving the recipe. In my photos I’m creating a full batch since it didn’t occur to me to do otherwise until much too late.

Beat the egg whites and the lemon juice.

royal icing 1

No need to whip it up for too long. Add the sugar a little at a time until it looks like this:

royal icing 2

The end! For the icing, I mean. Use it quickly and store the rest in an airtight container, because the stuff turns to glue in a hot minute.

Next, take the lifesavers and place them smooth-side-down on a cooling rack. Carefully, dip the side of another lifesaver in a dab of icing (just a dab).

royal icing etc.

And secure it into the nook of a lifesaver on the cooling rack. 

img_1558

Do not worry about them not sticking. The icing=glue, and it sets up faster than a jackrabbit on a date.

Pretty soon you’ll have a little army of lifesavers.

img_1560

Make sure the candies are dry and hardened before turning them over. (Notice I had to switch cooling racks because I wasn’t smart enough to use a slotted one the first time) Also used a bowl to hold my cooling rack up a bit, so that the bottoms of the lifesavers didn’t drag the table. You want them to be level for the next step.

img_1563

Like you did with the lifesavers, dip a jelly bean into the icing, just a dab.

img_1565

And place the jellybean icing-side-down into the lifesaver nook.

img_1566

Wait a minute . . . those kind of look like . . . wee pacifiers!

img_1570

And you know what? You can eat ’em. Great idea, Nanch! Duff should hire you to work at Charm City Cakes.

Has anyone ever eaten at the Magnolia Bakery in New York City? Well, on my quest for the perfect cupcake recipe, I found their recipe on the internets. I tried it out once and–while not as delicious as the cupcake I actually ate at the bakery–it was the best recipe I’d found so far. So I decided that the candy pacifiers would be presh on top of a yummaaay cupcake.

To make the supposed Magnolia Bakery vanilla cupcake, you’ll need:

  • 1 1/2 cups self-rising flour
  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 sticks unsalted butter, softened
  • 4 large eggs at room temp.
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract

This is an easy, easy recipe that produces a gorgeous yellow batter (perfect for bowl scraping/licking). So first, preheat your oven to 350 degrees F. With a mixer, cream the butter until it is smooth.

img_1575

See that action shot? Yowza! I ❤ my KitchenAid.

Add the sugar and beat until the mixture is delicious and fluffy-looking.

img_1581

In a separate bowl (you can also do this before combining the sugar and butter), sift together the flours.

img_1577

I love sifted flour. I think it is beautiful, like a beach or a desert sand dune.

img_1578

Aaaaaaaaah. Now shut up and set that bowl aside for a minute. Gather the eggs, milk, and vanilla.

img_1589

Add the eggs, one at a time, until all four are incorporated.

Take a break and play with cat.

img_1584

Play until he can’t play no more.

img_1585

Back to work. Take your flour mixture, and add it in three batches; alternate between adding the flour and the milk. 

img_1590

Nom.

img_1591

NOM! That batter is just as tasty as it is purdy. Mix in the vanilla to make it taste even nomm-ier.

Line your cupcake tins, and fill them 2/3 or 3/4 full of batter. This recipe EASILY makes two dozen cupcakes. 

img_1595

Bake at 350 for 20-25 minutes until they look a little golden. The toothpick trick doesn’t hurt, either.

When done, they look scrumptious.

img_1597

Just like my quest for the perfect man, my quest for the perfect cupcake has never yielded what I consider to be anything “perfect” in terms of icing (not even perfect-for-me). So far the perfect icing comes from my friend (and closest thing to the perfect man), Duncan Hines. I asked Jennifer and Steph to ice these while I set up the rest of the table. Place the candy pacifiers on top, and . . . 

Voila!

baby cupcakes

Adorableness. Notice that my homemade chocolate lollies turned out all right, too.

At the end of the day, I think the party was a success. People ate, drank, laughed, ooohed and aaaahed over all of the baby goodness. And my tables managed to distract me from the fact that I was trying to have a party in the most austere and unfriendly of corporate conference rooms.

img_1603

img_1604

And I think the mom-t0-be had some fun, too.

img_1614_1

I mean, just look at all that stuff!

Cheers, 

Jocelyn

9 responses to “Fete for a Fetus

  1. Omygoodness! You gave me a laugh!! Those cupcakes are tooooo cute. Didn’t know what talent you had for baking. And they also made me crave C A K E. None here. sigh. Good job.

  2. Those cupcakes look delicious and are brilliant. I’m sure your boss (and the party-goers) loved it!

  3. ADORBS. In ever so many ways! ❤ Jen

  4. Oh Wow Jocelyn, What a clever idea. You really did yourself good on this one. Will have to keep this one in mind for a baby shower.

    from another Jocelyn

  5. Sets up quicker than a jackrabbit on a date?! I love your blog voice!

  6. Thanks for the credit–quite undeserved. I do like being referred to as “perpetually party-planning”–Cute stuff sweetpea!
    Nanch

  7. So glad you didn’t give up on the lollies. And I LOVED Magnolia bakery. I felt so chic eating there! I’ve meant to include it in a book every since, but…keep forgetting. That place though–I could just hang out there–forever.

  8. you are WAY too talented! I would have stopped for the cupcakes at Walmart. LOL

    Amanda looked too tiny to be about to deliver. Some people. Sigh.

  9. Seriously, Colleen. My gut looks bigger after a night of fajitas at the taco house.

Leave a Reply

