It’s official

I HATE knitting.

About a year ago, my friend and coworker–Becky–taught me and several people in the office how to begin knitting. Since then, my friend Lisa has probably finished about fifty projects, and I have finished–count it–zero. I just don’t like it. It makes my hands hurt, and my eyes twitch; and basically everything I have tried to knit winds up looking like this.

yarn mess

However, since I’m the only person in the world who hates to knit (I even googled “I hate knitting” and basically got no legit hits), I thought I would share something that I came across on youtube the other day while trying to salvage a terrible, ugly, fuzzy, mess that was supposedly a hand-knitted scarf. Her name’s “the knit witch.”

This woman has loads of what seem to be useful little videos about knitting AND crocheting. And actually, they aren’t completely confusing–even for a dumbhead knitter like me. Just go to youtube and search for her name, and you’ll be amazed at what you find. I think a lot of these videos would be good for beginners.

You yarn crafters, enjoy. I’m going back to crafts that don’t cause me physical and mental excruciation now.

Cheers,

Jocelyn

PS – our friend Stephanie just sent me this Natalie Dee cartoon because it seemed particularly applicable to me. *Note: I am NOT the sheep who can knit.

knitting ewe

4 responses to “It’s official

  1. stephanie tresner

    Sheeps are fuzzy.

  2. The “I googled I hate knitting and got no hits” thing cracked me up. Who needs to knit when you can make cupcakes? Those serve a REAL purpose.

  3. So witty. I’m always jealous of people who can knit.

  4. I secretly hate it too, but so many people know I love(d) it, buy me yarn, think of me as a knitter… it’s tough to give up. I, too, suffer immensely after about 3 rows. Should I be too young to have knitting arthritis? Thanks for the video!

Leave a Reply

