Making Good (Plus a Giveaway!)

Hello, Hello! I don’t know why you say good-bye . . .

Jocelyn here, with an update: I’ve been to London and back! I was serious about that list, folks; and even though I’ve not quite chosen my final “to do,” I took the opportunity of an unexpected fall break to grab my mom and carry her across the pond.

Many of you have already seen the lovely UK (this was my first visit), so I won’t spend too much time gushing. But highlights included:

Westminster Abbey! (home of Elizabeth I’s bones, Poets’ Corner, and the oh-so-famous recent royal wedding)

Buckingham Palace

Trafalgar Square (See, Nanch loved this place)

High Tea at the National Portrait Gallery

Tour of the Tower of London with a Yeoman Warder

. . . and all sorts of other things. We only had a few days, but I’ll say that we did pretty well to see the highlights, especially considering how the Tube was limited due to construction and the buses kept dropping us off at the wrong spots.

So! In celebration of bloggery, and in celebration of completing one of the first big tasks on my 30-before-30 list (“to go abroad again”), I’ve brought home some loot for one of you.

For a chance to win a box of Jasmine green tea from Fortnum & Mason (the Queen’s grocer) and a Beatles coaster straight from the British Library, leave a comment letting me know your favorite place you’ve ever travelled. Comments left before noon CST, November 1st, will be entered into a random number generator that will pick the winner. Update: The giveaway is now closed. Thanks to you all for the comments!

Have a happy Wednesday, friends!

Cheers,

Joce

PS – Here are a few links that might help you plan your own trip to London.

10 responses to “Making Good (Plus a Giveaway!)

  1. My favorite place I’ve been is Hallstatt, Austria. It is beautiful, quaint, and a little bit strange!

  2. As I’ve told several people, Westminster was my favorite site of the entire trip. I mean, all those people…those famous people that you see depicted in awesome movies and premium cable series…are buried right there. RIGHT THERE! I was eating that shit up.

  3. Can we do ties? Let me pull a Kim Reed and have several favorites…Isle of Ometepe, Nicaragua; Portoroz, Slovenia; Glacier National Park (Many Glacier), Montana; trek from Jiri to Lukla, Nepal…oh to get out of school and travel!!

    Love the photos and your determination for adventure, boo!

  4. My favorite place was a 1000 year old church in Oxford, UK. It was small, but its location made it even more interesting. It was in the middle of a busy Oxford thoroughfare, with big departmental stores nearby. The juxtaposition of the new and modern with the old and quaint was wonderful.

  5. I know this might make me sound lame, but Nate and I honeymooned in Canada, and I went to Quebec City for a conference in grad school. Our honeymoon was awesome, and was the perfect way for me to say goodbye to the north before I packed it up to move down here. Quebec City is a great example of how much history we have over here in North America. I have to admit, that I love the great north! I really want to go back to Canada. (For the record, I’ve been to Europe, and I totally plan to go back, I’ve just had a soft spot for our northern neighbors lately.)

  6. That food looks delicious! Great pictures!

    My favorite place to travel is Kauai’i, Hawai’i. It is lush and the perfect temperature, life is slow and carefree, there are pineapples galore, and I never get tired of the sound of the ocean. I am an Island girl, for sure, save for my inability to get a tan without roasting first.

  7. I like Boulder, CO [ ^Chloe’s hometown, of all places!]. It’s got mountains and hippies and delicious food. What more do you need?

  8. I just my vote to go for my old roommate Molly (can I do that?). She would love your gifts. Hard question…I’m going to go with Tanzania. Mt. Kilimanjaro is pretty breathtaking.

  9. amazzinnnggg! (Edinburgh, UK, although I withdraw myself from the contest 🙂 )

  10. Hi Joce, glad you had a fun time! Of course London is also on the top of my list and so is Vienna! My unexpected addition to the list would be Petra, Jordan.

Leave a Reply

